Employee offering professional assistance via telephone


In our glossary, you can find a list of important terms related to work and life in Germany.

Schengen Area

German: Schengen-Raum

The Schengen Area encompasses all countries which signed the Schengen Agreement. Nationals of a Schengen State and nationals of a non-EU State which have a Schengen visa are entitled to freedom of movement within the Schengen zone and can travel to other States without border controls. To date, nearly all EU Member States have signed the Schengen Agreement, except Ireland and Cyprus. Bulgaria, Croatia and Romania apply the Schengen Agreement only partially. The Schengen zone also includes the non-EU States of Switzerland, Norway, Liechtenstein and Iceland.

Theme: Politics & Society, Visas

Skyline of Hamburg